top of page

Exhibition 2018

Presse SHaus

"What Matthias Boehm feels, he sets to music. What moves him, he puts into words. And what he sings, he translates into color. The current exhibition in the Schmidt-Haus offers something for the eyes and ears.

Nabburg.(aub) "Matthias Boehm is back on stage again in the Schmidt-Haus," announced Christa Haubelt-Schlosser in her laudatory speech. In contrast to 1990, when he performed together with Wolfgang Barthel, he now fills the rooms "not primarily with music, but with his paintings, which, however, would not exist without the former". He created the basis for this very early on. The former Regensburger Domspatz had already passed his Abitur in both "arts" at the Anton-Bruckner-Gymnasium in Straubing, in order to then study music didactics and teaching for secondary schools. Besides, his career began as a singer-songwriter, instrumentalist, composer 

New-nT3.JPG

The press: (automatic translated)

and studio musicians. Solo or in various formations since 1973, numerous stage appearances, from 1982 seventeen LP or CD productions, media presence - including the accompaniment of the BR2 show "Bildopoly" - and for 10 years the management of the music workshop of the Nabburg middle school. When suddenly his health was no longer "playing along", he reactivated his alternative creativity: "The end of music is the beginning of painting. Rather, it rounds off what I did before - if it was tones to hear, that's how they are to see now". The first im- and expressionistic illustrations of his music are no longer incidental, but consciously created as an expression of harmonious or dissonant emotions. Interesting parallels quickly become apparent: the experiment, as an exciting artistic counterpart, resembles musical improvisation, rhythm is just as important here as there is accentuation, and breathing pauses or freedom turn out to be the elixir of life for all artists. Matthias Boehm has the great talent of balancing between two worlds: As the first exhibitor, he personally put the vernissage guests in the mood for his presented world of images with professional craftsmanship in a live performance on the guitar and with singing. In a way, the visitors experienced Böhm's own acoustic version of a total work of art, an idea that Karl Schmidt-Wolfratshausen once had in mind, albeit more spatially related.

 

The "music meets art" exhibition is open every Sunday from 2 p.m. to 5 p.m. until April 8th. Two audio guides are available for listening pleasure."  DER NEUE TAG 02/26/2018

PosterSH.jpg


"Wie ein Feuerwerk aus dem Vulkan represents the current special exhibition as the title picture music meets art. The artist lets glowing red lava rise from the earth's interior like fireworks and illuminate the deep blue night sky in a colorful explosion. The broad brushstrokes and impasto application of paint over a coarse-grained painting ground underline the substantial nature of the paint and reinforce its materiality. They symbolize the structure of slow-flowing lava and the elemental volcanic energy that causes the surrounding rock masses to burst and melt...

Wie im Mondenschein Gold auf Wellen liegt right next to it, sets the scene for our satellite as a bright circle of light in the dark firmament over the sea. The reflection of its radiance is reflected as a bright yellow coloring on the otherwise black to blue shaded water surface, drifting apart in the middle in a glistening white track.

Similar to the previous paintings, the musician and artist Matthias Boehm applies the paint in consistently wide bands, or interrupts them and, in search of the structure of things and in favor of the dynamic, sets simple forms of square brushstrokes, also less colorful, like mosaic stones to each other. This is reminiscent of Paul Cézanne, with whose style of painting he actually dealt intensively. The luminosity of the (pure) colors is retained, that's what fascinates him, he confesses...

Through gestalt psychology, which describes human perception as the ability to identify structures and principles of order in sensory impressions, he then approached his symbolism in order to make figures visible in clouds....

For him, this approach and its pictorial visualization has become therapy for experiencing to work up...

Particularly strong, Matthias Boehm explains, the symbolism in Herbstgedicht from 1997. Figurative metamorphoses as in Fallende Blätter das Ende beginnt (2017) reveal faces, dancers, a torso, a cemetery candle or his allegory for hope, a being of light.

In the cubist-oriented variant Graue Menschen trotzen Modetrends (2016) the left, i.e. emotional, half of the face of the grey-haired, bearded man is covered with outlines of life scenes from birth to death. The consoling, light figure reappears...

And finally, Matthias Boehm also has quiet pictures in which he doesn't have to work through anything."

"With the picture Look at the sky, the view of the sky, from 2017 the exhibition ends music meets art and with it the journey through the picturesque world of Matthias Boehm. No matter how fascinating and promising it may be to see the world from above and let yourself drift in eternity: the Heaven there is also on earth, in the midst of earthly, volcanic forces or in the endless water of the oceans or with the people who are closest to us, the artist conveys it to us.” (Vernissage, February 21, 2018)

Introduction to the exhibition: Christa Haubelt-Schlosser MA

(heavily shortened and automatic translated!)

Laudatio

Video of the vernissage

Sebastian Boehm © & ℗ 2018
bottom of page

top of page

Ausstellung 2018

Presse SHaus

"Was Matthias Böhm fühlt, vertont er. Was ihn bewegt, fasst er in Worte. Und was er singt, setzt er in Farbe um. So bietet die aktuelle Ausstellung im Schmidt-Haus was für Auge und Ohr.

Nabburg.(aub) "Matthias Böhm ist wieder 'Back on stage' im Schmidt-Haus", verkündete Christa Haubelt-Schlosser in ihrer Laudatio. Im Unterschied zu 1990, als er zusammen mit Wolfgang Barthel auftrat, bespielt er aber nun die Räume "nicht vordergründig mit Musik, sondern seiner Malerei, die jedoch ohne die erstere nicht existent wäre". Die Basis dazu schuf er schon sehr früh. In beiden "Künsten" hatte der ehemalige Regensburger Domspatz bereits am Anton-Bruckner-Gymnasium in Straubing sein Abitur abgelegt, um dann Musikdidaktik und Lehramt für Hauptschulen zu studieren. Nebenbei begann seine Karriere als Liedermacher, Instrumentalist, Komponist 

Neu-nT3.JPG

Die Presse: 

und Studiomusiker. Solo oder in diversen Formationen summierten sich seit 1973 zahlreiche Bühnenauftritte, ab 1982 siebzehn LP- oder CD-Produktionen, mediale Präsenz - darunter die Begleitung der BR2-Sendung "Bildopoly" - und 10 Jahre lang die Leitung der Musikwerkstatt der Mittelschule Nabburg. Als plötzlich die Gesundheit nicht mehr "mitspielte", reaktiviert er seine alternative Kreativität: "Das Ende der Musik ist der Anfang der Malerei. Vielmehr rundet sie das ab, was ich vorher gemacht habe - waren es bisher Töne zum Hören, so sind sie eben jetzt zu Sehen". Nicht mehr nebenbei, sondern bewusst entstehen nun als Ausdruck harmonischer oder dissonanter Emotionen erste im- und expressionistische Illustrationen seiner Musik. Schnell zeigen sich interessante Parallelen: Das Experiment gleicht als spannendes künstlerisches Pendant der musikalischen Improvisation, Rhythmus ist hier wie da ebenso wichtig wie Akzentuierung und Atempausen oder Freiräume stellen sich als Lebenselixier aller Künstler heraus. Matthias Böhm hat das große Talent, zwischen zwei Welten zu balancieren: Als erster Ausstellender stimmte er die Vernissage-Gäste persönlich mit handwerklicher Professionalität in einer Live-Performance an der Gitarre und mit Gesang auf seine präsentierte Bilderwelt ein. In gewisser Weise erlebten die Besucher Böhms eigene, akustische Version eines Gesamtkunstwerks, eine Idee, die, wenn auch eher raumbezogen, einst schon Karl Schmidt-Wolfratshausen vorschwebte.

 

Die Ausstellung "music meets art" hat noch bis 8. April immer sonntags von 14 bis 17 Uhr geöffnet. Es stehen für den Hörgenuss zwei Audioguides zur Verfügung."  DER NEUE TAG 26.02.2018

PlakatSH.jpg


Wie ein Feuerwerk aus dem Vulkan repräsentiert als Titelbild die aktuelle Sonderausstellung music meets art. Wie ein Feuerwerk lässt der Künstler glühend rote Lava aus dem Erdinnern aufsteigen und den tiefblauen Nachthimmel in einer farbenprächtigen Explosion illuminieren. Der breite Pinselduktus und pastose Farbauftrag über grobkörnigem Malgrund unterstreichen die substantielle Beschaffenheit der Farbe und verstärken ihre Materialität. Sie versinnbildlichen die Struktur zähfließender Lava und die urgewaltige vulkanische Energie, die die umgebenden Gesteinsmassen zum Bersten und Schmelzen bringt…

Wie im Mondenschein Gold auf Wellen liegt setzt gleich daneben unseren Erdtrabanten als hellen Lichtkreis am dunklen Firmament über dem Meer in Szene. Der Widerschein seiner Strahlkraft legt sich als leuchtend gelbes Kolorit auf die ansonsten schwarz bis blau schattierte Wasseroberfläche, mittig in einer gleißend weißen Bahn auseinander driftend.

Ähnlich wie in den vorherigen Gemälden trägt der Musiker und Künstler Matthias Böhm die Farbe in durchgängig breiten Bahnen auf, oder unterbricht diese und setzt auf der Suche nach der Struktur der Dinge und zugunsten der Dynamik einfache Formen aus viereckigen Pinselstrichen, auch vermindert farbig, wie Mosaiksteine aneinander. Das erinnert an Paul Cézanne, mit dessen Malweise er sich tatsächlich intensiv auseinander gesetzt hat. Die Leuchtkraft der (reinen) Farben bleibe dabei erhalten, das ist es, was ihn fasziniere, bekennt er…

Über die Gestaltpsychologie, die die menschliche Wahrnehmung als Fähigkeit beschreibt, Strukturen und Ordnungsprinzipien in Sinneseindrücken auszumachen, näherte er sich damals seinem Symbolismus, um Figürliches in Wolken sichtbar zu machen….Für ihn ist diese Betrachtungsweise und deren malerische Visualisierung zur Therapie geworden, um Erlebtes aufzuarbeiten…Besonders stark greife, so expliziert Matthias Böhm, der Symbolismus im Herbstgedicht von 1997. Figurative Metamorphosen wie in Fallende Blätter, das Ende beginnt (2017) lassen Gesichter, Tänzerinnen, einen Torso, eine Friedhofkerze oder seine Allegorie für Hoffnung, ein Lichtwesen, erkennen.

In der kubistisch orientierten Variante Graue Menschen trotzen Modetrends (2016) ist die linke, also emotionale Gesichtshälfte, des grauhaarigen, bärtigen Mannes mit schemenhaft skizzierten Lebensszenen von der Geburt bis zum Tod belegt. Die trostspendende, lichte Gestalt taucht wieder auf…

Und schlussendlich gibt es bei Matthias Böhm auch Ruhe-Bilder, in denen er nichts aufarbeiteten muss."

"Mit dem Bild Look at the sky, dem Blick in den Himmel, von 2017 endet die Ausstellung music meets art und damit die Reise durch die malerische Welt von Matthias Böhm. Mag es auch noch so faszinierend und verheißungsvoll sein, die Welt von oben zu sehen und sich in der Ewigkeit treiben zu lassen: den Himmel gibt es auch auf Erden, inmitten ganz irdischer, vulkanischer Kräfte oder am unendlichen Wasser der Ozeane oder den Menschen, die uns am nächsten stehen, vermittelt es uns der Künstler.“ (Vernissage, 21.02.2018)

Einführung in die Ausstellung: Christa Haubelt-Schlosser M.A.

(stark gekürzt!)

Laudatio
bottom of page